Settlement permit

Settlement permit

The settlement permit enables you to stay in Germany for an unlimited period of time. It basically serves to consolidate your residence. A settlement permit allows you to live and work in Germany without restrictions: You can pursue employment as an employee as well as self-employment. Under certain conditions, there is also the possibility of obtaining a permanent right of residence-EU, with the consequence that access to the entire European labor market is facilitated.

Requirements for a settlement permit

The requirements for obtaining a settlement permit depend on your previous residence title. As a rule, you must fulfill the following requirements in accordance with § 9 AufenthG:

  1. Five-year legal residence in Germany
  2. Secured livelihood
  3. Retirement provision
  4. No conflicting reasons of public safety or order
  5. Language skills and knowledge of the legal and social order
  6. Sufficient living space

Five-year legal residence

To obtain a settlement permit, you must have lived legally in Germany for five years, i.e. have a (temporary) residence title. Short trips abroad are harmless.

However, there are special regulations in the Residence Act that allow you to be granted a settlement permit even if you have not been in Germany for five years.

Special regulations

  • Skilled workers (without EU Blue Card): 4 years
  • EU Blue Card: 33 months or 21 months if you have sufficient language skills (level B1)
  • Self-employed: 3 years
  • Persons entitled to asylum: crediting of residence periods of the asylum procedure
  • Family members German: 3 years
  • Foreign spouse: 3 years

Secured livelihood

You must be able to support yourself and your family members. Pursuant to Section 2 (3) AufenthG, your means of subsistence are secured if you are able to provide for them, including adequate health insurance cover, without recourse to public funds. 

NOT considered a use of public funds is the receipt of:

  • Child benefit
  • Child supplement
  • Parenting Benefit
  • Parenting Benefit
  • Unemployment benefit I
  • BAföG
  • Child benefit
  • Child supplement
  • Parenting Benefit
  • Parenting Benefit
  • Unemployment benefit I
  • BAföG

Special regulations apply to:

  • Students
  • Researchers
  • Dependent
  • Persons, who are listed in § 28 Abs. 1 AufenthG
  • Physically, mentally or emotionally ill people

Retirement provision

In order to obtain a settlement permit, your old-age provision must be secured. You must therefore not only be able to prove that your livelihood is secure at the present moment, but also that it will be secure after you leave your profession.

This is generally proven if you have paid at least 60 months of compulsory or voluntary contributions to the statutory pension insurance or you can prove expenses for an entitlement to comparable benefits such as a private pension insurance.

If you do not know exactly how many monthly contributions you have already submitted to the pension insurance fund, you can request an insurance history from the German pension insurance fund. This is also regularly sent to legally insured persons in accordance with Section 149 (3) of the German Social Security Code (SGB IV). This insurance history is also sufficient as proof for the authorities.

Proof of sufficient pension provision can also be provided by the spouse or civil partner.

Language skills and knowledge of the legal and social order

In order to obtain a settlement permit for Germany, you must prove a certain language level. Language skills are essential for the integration into the German society and for the assertion on the German labor market.

Against this background, a language level of B1 according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages is required to obtain a settlement permit.

Level B1 falls under the so-called "independent use of language". A person with B1 level can understand the main points of a conversation on familiar topics, as long as spoken clearly and understandably, and is able to express himself/herself about them in a simple and coherent way.

Proof of this language level can be obtained in various ways. One way to obtain a B1 language certificate is to take the Deutsch-Test für Zuwanderer (DTZ). The DTZ is a language test that was developed specifically for immigrants and serves as the final language section in integration courses. You can find more information about the DTZ here on the BAMF site.

A language certificate is not required in some exceptional cases. This is the case, among others, if you...

  • have obtained a German university degree
  • have successfully attended a German school for four years
  • have a German school leaving certificate
  • have been successfully transferred to a secondary school after the 10th grade

Exceptions also exist if a B1 language level cannot be achieved due to mental or physical disabilities.

No conflicting reasons of public safety or order

The settlement permit should only be granted to those persons who want to and are able to be part of the free democratic social order. However, this is not the case for persons who pose a threat to public safety and order. If there are contrary reasons for public security and order, no settlement permit will be issued.

This very vague requirement from Section 9 (2) No. 4 AufenthG is difficult to grasp. When exactly do reasons of public security and order prevent the granting of a settlement permit?

It goes without saying that mere petty violations of the law, such as a parking ticket, do not constitute an opposing reason of public safety or order. In contrast, the granting of a settlement permit in the case of a capital crime such as murder would unquestionably be ruled out.

However, ambiguities exist more in the area between these two extremes. Basically, the fact whether you are considered to have a "criminal record" in Germany can be used as an orientation.

Thus, out of consideration remain:

  • Educational measures or disciplinary measures under the Juvenile Court Act
  • Sentences of imprisonment of up to three months suspended and remitted after expiry of the probationary period
  • Sentences to fines up to 90 daily rates

It is important to note that a conviction abroad is just as considerable as a conviction in Germany. A conviction abroad can only be disregarded in exceptional cases. For example, if the act is not punishable in the FRG, or if the conviction can be attributed to non-legal reasons.

Caution. When applying for a settlement permit, truthful information must be provided in this regard. Lying in the application constitutes a criminal offense. In particular, it should be noted here that in Germany a previous conviction can exist even for a "mere" fine, namely from 91 daily rates.  

If investigations are underway against you or you have already been charged, then information must also be provided in this regard in the application procedure. This will usually lead to the suspension of the issuance of your settlement permit until the outcome of these proceedings.

Sufficient living space

Two factors play a role in determining whether your living space is sufficient: the condition and the occupancy, i.e. the size of the apartment in terms of the number of occupants. Sufficient living space is always available if there are 12 square meters of living space for each family member over the age of six and 10 square meters for each family member under the age of six, and if ancillary rooms (kitchen, bathroom, WC) can be shared to a reasonable extent. Infants under two years of age are not counted in the calculation of living space. A shortfall of this apartment size by about 10 % is harmless.

Procedure

Pursuant to Section 81 (1) AufenthG, the settlement permit is only issued upon application. The application must be submitted to the relevant immigration authority. The jurisdiction of the foreigners authority depends on your place of residence.

The processing time for the issuance of the settlement permit may not exceed three months in principle. However, the foreigners authorities are often overloaded, so that processing can take much longer in practice. In such cases, applicants have the option of bringing an action for failure to act pursuant to Section 75 VwGO.

Regional differences in the application for a settlement permit

The formal requirements for applying for a settlement permit may vary depending on the location in Germany.

While the legal requirements are uniform, the required forms, documentation, and application procedures may vary.

Here you will find general information and instructions on how to apply for a settlement permit for the cities of Berlin, Hamburg and Munich.

Mandantenportal

| Blog | FAQ |

Niederlassungserlaubnis

Niederlassungserlaubnis

Mit der Niederlassungserlaubnis wird Ihnen ein unbefristeter Aufenthalt in Deutschland ermöglicht. Sie dient im Grunde der Verfestigung Ihres Aufenthalts. Eine Niederlassungserlaubnis gestattet es Ihnen, in Deutschland ohne Einschränkungen zu leben und zu arbeiten: Sie können sowohl einer Beschäftigung als Arbeitnehmer als auch einer selbstständigen Erwerbstätigkeit nachgehen. Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen besteht zudem die Möglichkeit der Erlangung eines Daueraufenthaltsrechts-EU, mit der Folge, dass der Zugang zum gesamten europäischen Arbeitsmarkt erleichtert wird.

Voraussetzungen für eine Niederlassungserlaubnis

Die Voraussetzungen für die Erteilung der Niederlassungserlaubnis hängt von Ihrem bisherigen Aufenthaltstitel ab. In der Regel müssen Sie gem. § 9 AufenthG folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  1. Fünfjähriger rechtmäßiger Aufenthalt in Deutschland
  2. Gesicherter Lebensunterhalt
  3. Altersvorsorge
  4. Keine entgegenstehenden Gründe der öffentlichen Sicherheit oder Ordnung
  5. Sprachkenntnisse und Kenntnisse der Rechts- und Gesellschaftsordnung
  6. Ausreichender Wohnraum

Fünfjähriger rechtmäßiger Aufenthalt

Für den Erhalt einer Niederlassungserlaubnis müssen Sie seit fünf Jahren rechtmäßig in Deutschland gelebt haben, d.h. einen (befristeten) Aufenthaltstitel besitzen. Kurze Auslandsreisen sind dabei unschädlich.

Es existieren jedoch spezielle Regelungen im Aufenthaltsgesetz, welche die Erteilung einer Niederlassungserlaubnis ermöglicht, auch wenn Sie sich nicht seit fünf Jahren in Deutschland aufhalten.

Spezielle Vorschriften

  • Fachkräfte (ohne Blaue Karte EU): 4 Jahre
  • Blaue Karte EU: 27 Monate bei Deutsch-Grundkenntnissen (Stufe A1) bzw. 21 Monate bei ausreichenden Sprachkenntnissen (Stufe B1)
  • Selbstständige: 3 Jahre
  • Asylberechtigte: Anrechnung der Aufenthaltszeiten des Asylverfahrens
  • Familienangehörige Deutscher: 3 Jahre
  • Ausländischer Ehegatte: 3 Jahre

Gesicherter Lebensunterhalt

Sie müssen in der Lage sein, den Lebensunterhalt für sich und Ihre Familienangehörigen zu bestreiten. Ihr Lebensunterhalt ist gem. § 2 Abs. 3 AufenthG gesichert, wenn Sie ihn einschließlich ausreichenden Krankenversicherungsschutzes ohne Inanspruchnahme öffentlicher Mittel bestreiten können. 

NICHT als Inanspruchnahme öffentlicher Mittel gilt der Bezug von:

  • Kindergeld
  • Kinderzuschlag
  • Erziehungsgeld
  • Elterngeld
  • Arbeitslosengeld I
  • BAföG
  • Kindergeld
  • Kinderzuschlag
  • Erziehungsgeld
  • Elterngeld
  • Arbeitslosengeld I
  • BAföG

Spezielle Vorschriften gelten für:

  • Studenten
  • Forscher
  • Unterhaltspflichtige
  • Personen, welche in § 28 Abs. 1 AufenthG aufgelistet werden
  • Körperlich, geistig, oder seelisch erkrankte Menschen

Altersvorsorge

Für den Erhalt einer Niederlassungserlaubnis muss Ihre Altersversorgung gesichert sein. Sie müssen also nicht nur nachweisen können, dass Ihr Lebensunterhalt im jetzigen Moment gesichert ist, sondern auch, dass dieser nach Berufsaustritt gesichert sein wird.

Dies ist grundsätzlich nachgewiesen, wenn Sie mindestens 60 Monate Pflichtbeiträge oder freiwillige Beiträge zur gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung eingezahlt haben oder Sie Aufwendungen für einen Anspruch auf vergleichbare Leistungen wie beispielsweise eine private Rentenversicherung nachweisen können.

Falls Sie nicht genau wissen, wie viele Monatsbeiträge Sie bereits bei der Rentenversicherung eingereicht haben, können Sie einen Versicherungsverlauf der Deutschen Rentenversicherung einfordern. Dieser wird darüber hinaus gem. § 149 Abs. 3 SGB IV gesetzlich Versicherten regelmäßig übersandt. Dieser Versicherungsverlauf genügt auch als Nachweis bei der Behörde.

Der Nachweis der genügenden Altersvorsorge kann auch durch den Ehepartner oder Lebenspartner erbracht werden.

Sprachkenntnisse und Kenntnisse der Rechts- und Gesellschaftsordnung

Um eine Niederlassungserlaubnis für Deutschland zu erhalten, müssen Sie ein bestimmtes Sprachniveau nachweisen. Sprachkenntnisse sind essenziel bei der Integration in die deutsche Gesellschaft und für die Behauptung auf dem deutschen Arbeitsmarkt.

Vor diesem Hintergrund wird für den Erhalt einer Niederlassungserlaubnis ein Sprachniveau von B1 nach dem gemeinsamen europäischen Referenzrahmen für Sprachen gefordert.

Das Niveau B1 fällt unter die sogenannte „selbstständige Sprachanwendung“. Eine Person mit B1 Sprachniveau kann die Hauptpunkte einer Konversation über vertraute Themen verstehen, soweit klar und verständlich gesprochen wird, und ist in der Lage, sich einfach und zusammenhängend über diese zu äußern.

Der Nachweis dieses Sprachniveaus kann auf verschiedene Art und Weise erbracht werden. Eine Möglichkeit, ein B1 Sprachzertifikat zu erhalten, ist den Deutsch-Test für Zuwanderer (DTZ) zu absolvieren. Der DTZ ist ein Sprachtest, der eigens für Zuwanderer entwickelt wurde und im Rahmen der Integrationskurse als Abschluss des Sprachteils dient. Weitere Informationen über den DTZ können Sie hier auf der Seite des BAMF finden.

Ein Sprachzertifikat wird in einigen Ausnahmefällen nicht benötigt. Dies ist unter anderem der Fall, wenn Sie…

  • einen deutschen Hochschulabschluss erworben haben
  • vier Jahre lang erfolgreich eine deutsche Schule besucht haben
  • einen deutschen Schulabschluss besitzen
  • nach der 10. Klasse erfolgreich auf eine weiterführende Schule versetzt wurden

Ausnahmen bestehen auch, wenn ein Sprachniveau von B1 aufgrund von geistigen oder körperlichen Behinderungen nicht erreicht werden kann.

Keine entgegenstehenden Gründe der öffentlichen Sicherheit oder Ordnung

Die Niederlassungserlaubnis soll nur solchen Personen erteilt werden, die Teil der freiheitlich demokratischen Gesellschaftsordnung sein wollen und können. Dies ist bei Personen, die eine Gefahr für die öffentliche Sicherheit und Ordnung darstellen, jedoch nicht der Fall. Bestehen entgegenstehende Gründe der öffentlichen Sicherheit und Ordnung wird somit keine Niederlassungserlaubnis erteilt.

Diese sehr vage Anforderung aus § 9 Abs. 2 Nr. 4 AufenthG ist schwer greifbar. Wann genau stehen Gründe der öffentlichen Sicherheit und Ordnung der Erteilung einer Niederlassungserlaubnis entgegen?

Selbstverständlich ist wohl, dass bloße Bagatellverstöße gegen die Rechtsordnung, wie etwa ein Strafzettel für Falschparken, keinen entgegenstehenden Grund der öffentlichen Sicherheit oder Ordnung darstellen. Demgegenüber wäre eine Erteilung der Niederlassungserlaubnis bei einem Kapitalverbrechen wie etwa Mord unfraglich ausgeschlossen.

Unklarheiten bestehen jedoch eher im Bereich zwischen dieses beiden Extremen. Grundsätzlich kann sich an der Tatsache orientiert werden, ob Sie in Deutschland als „vorbestraft“ angesehen werden.

Außer Betracht bleiben somit:

  • Erziehungsmaßregeln oder Zuchtmittel nach dem Jugendgerichtsgesetz
  • Verurteilungen zu Freiheitsstrafe bis zu drei Monaten, die zur Bewährung ausgesetzt und nach Ablauf der Bewährungszeit erlassen worden sind
  • Verurteilungen zu Geldstrafe bis zu 90 Tagessätzen

Wichtig zu beachten ist, dass eine Verurteilung im Ausland genauso beachtlich ist wie eine Verurteilung in Deutschland. Eine Verurteilung im Ausland kann nur in Ausnahmefällen außer Betracht bleiben. So etwa, wenn die Handlung in der BRD nicht strafbar ist, oder wenn sich die Verurteilung auf nicht-rechtsstaatliche Gründe zurückführen lässt.

Vorsicht! Bei der Beantragung der Niederlassungserlaubnis sind diesbezüglich wahrheitsgemäße Angaben zu machen. Eine Lüge bei der Beantragung stellt eine Straftat dar. Insbesondere ist hier zu beachten, dass in Deutschland auch bei einer „bloßen“ Geldstrafe eine Vorstrafe bestehen kann, nämlich ab 91 Tagessätzen.  

Wenn Ermittlungen gegen Sie laufen oder Sie bereits angeklagt sind, dann sind im Beantragungsverfahren diesbezüglich ebenfalls Angaben zu machen. Dies wird in der Regel dazu führen, dass die Erteilung Ihrer Niederlassungserlaubnis bis zum Ergebnis dieser Vorgänge ausgesetzt wird.

Ausreichender Wohnraum

Bei der Prüfung, ob Ihr Wohnraum ausreichend ist, spielen zwei Faktoren eine Rolle: Die Beschaffenheit und die Belegung, d.h. die Größe der Wohnung im Hinblick auf die Zahl der Bewohner. Ausreichender Wohnraum ist stets vorhanden, wenn für jedes Familienmitglied im Alter von über sechs Jahren 12 Quadratmeter und für jedes Familienmitglied unter sechs Jahren 10 Quadratmeter Wohnfläche zur Verfügung stehen und Nebenräume (Küche, Bad, WC) in angemessenem Umfang mitbenutzt werden können. Kleinkinder von unter zwei Jahren werden bei der Berechnung des Wohnraumes nicht mitgezählt. Eine Unterschreitung dieser Wohnungsgröße um etwa 10 % ist unschädlich.

Verfahren

Die Niederlassungserlaubnis wird gem. § 81 Abs. 1 AufenthG nur auf Antrag erteilt. Der Antrag ist bei der zuständigen Ausländerbehörde zu stellen. Die Zuständigkeit der Ausländerbehörde richtet sich nach Ihrem Wohnort.

Die Bearbeitungszeit für die Erteilung der Niederlassungserlaubnis darf drei Monate grundsätzlich nicht überschreiten. Die Ausländerbehörden sind jedoch oft überlastet, so dass die Bearbeitung in der Praxis weitaus mehr Zeit in Anspruch nehmen kann. In solchen Fällen besteht für Antragsteller die Möglichkeit, eine Untätigkeitsklage nach § 75 VwGO zu erheben.

Regionale Unterschiede bei der Beantragung einer Niederlassungserlaubnis

Die formalen Voraussetzungen für die Beantragung einer Niederlassungserlaubnis können je nach Standort in Deutschland variieren.

Während die rechtlichen Anforderungen einheitlich sind, können die erforderlichen Formulare, Unterlagen und Antragsverfahren unterschiedlich sein.

Hier finden Sie allgemeine Informationen und Hinweise  zur Beantragung einer Niederlassungserlaubnis für die Städte Berlin, Hamburg und München.