EU Blue Card in Germany

The EU Blue Card - The Entry Visa and the Application Process to Obtain the EU Blue Card in Germany

What requirements must be met in order to obtain an EU Blue Card in Germany?

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

PGlmcmFtZSB3aWR0aD0iNTYwIiBoZWlnaHQ9IjMxNSIgc3JjPSJodHRwczovL3d3dy55b3V0dWJlLW5vY29va2llLmNvbS9lbWJlZC9TMU9KWDVxektvQSIgdGl0bGU9IllvdVR1YmUgdmlkZW8gcGxheWVyIiBmcmFtZWJvcmRlcj0iMCIgYWxsb3c9ImFjY2VsZXJvbWV0ZXI7IGF1dG9wbGF5OyBjbGlwYm9hcmQtd3JpdGU7IGVuY3J5cHRlZC1tZWRpYTsgZ3lyb3Njb3BlOyBwaWN0dXJlLWluLXBpY3R1cmUiIGFsbG93ZnVsbHNjcmVlbj48L2lmcmFtZT4=

If you intend to obtain an EU Blue Card in Germany, this process is basically done in two steps: First, a national visa is required for entry into Germany (so-called D visa), in order to then be able to apply for the EU Blue Card in the German city you have chosen.

After all, the requirements for obtaining the entry visa in the form of a national visa and the requirements for your residence permit for employment(EU Blue Card) are identical. 

The following requirements must generally be met if you want to apply for an EU Blue Card in Germany:

  1. You must have a university degree that is also recognized in Germany,
  2. should this be necessary in your intended profession, you will need the required professional practice permit
  3. and you must meet the required minimum salary threshold.

If you would like to obtain an EU Blue Card to pursue a profession in IT, you can look forward to an exemption: as IT specialists are in particularly high demand in Germany, they do not have to be able to prove that they have completed a university degree in order to be eligible for an EU Blue Card. However, they must have three years of relevant professional experience in the last seven years and theoretical knowledge at the level of a university degree. We explain the details of this exception here.

As already shown above, you have to submit practically the same application twice: A first time to enable entry to Germany in the first place and a second time to obtain a residence permit, in the form of the EU Blue Card in Germany.

However, not everyone is bound by this "double application". Citizens of some countries have the option of entering Germany without a visa in order to apply for the electronic EU Blue Card residence permit in Germany directly at the relevant immigration authority. The privileged countries in this respect are: The USA, Canada, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, South Korea, Japan, Israel, Australia and New Zealand. If you are a citizen of one of these countries, applying for an EU Blue Card in Germany is therefore a one-step process.

Further information on the EU Blue Card in Germany and the requirements for an entry visa can be found here (as of Nov. 2023).

Responsibilities in Germany

Which authority is responsible for applying for the EU Blue Card in Germany and where exactly you have to apply for it depends on the city or municipality in which you intend to have your permanent residence in the future.

Without entry visa

If you do not need an entry visa to be able to apply for the EU Blue Card in Germany, this is a fast and good option that you should use in any case to obtain the EU Blue Card in Germany as quickly as possible.

If you intend to apply for the EU Blue Card in Germany without an entry visa, we will fully advise you if we are mandated to do so and use all legal options to ensure that the application process for the EU Blue Card in Germany is completed as smoothly and quickly as possible.

With entry visa

Even if you need an entry visa to apply for an EU Blue Card in Germany, we will of course be happy to advise you and support you from the moment you apply for a visa until you receive your electronic residence permit.

In particular, we would like to draw your attention to the accelerated skilled worker procedure in accordance with Section 81a AufenthG. This offers a number of advantages. For example, an appointment is no longer necessary at some missions abroad and is limited to the submission of the required documents. If an appointment is nevertheless necessary, the German diplomatic missions abroad are obliged to schedule one within three weeks. A decision on your application will then usually be made within a few weeks of the date on which the documents are submitted.  

We also carry out the accelerated specialist procedure for our clients and advise them on the details of this procedure.  

You can find more information about the EU Blue Card here.

Blaue Karte EU Deutschland

Die Blaue Karte EU – Das Einreisvisum und der Beantragungsprozess zum Erhalt der Blauen Karte EU in Deutschland

Welche Voraussetzungen müssen erfüllt sein, um eine Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland zu erhalten?

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

PGlmcmFtZSB3aWR0aD0iNTYwIiBoZWlnaHQ9IjMxNSIgc3JjPSJodHRwczovL3d3dy55b3V0dWJlLW5vY29va2llLmNvbS9lbWJlZC96bjlRUFRIWGUxQSIgdGl0bGU9IllvdVR1YmUgdmlkZW8gcGxheWVyIiBmcmFtZWJvcmRlcj0iMCIgYWxsb3c9ImFjY2VsZXJvbWV0ZXI7IGF1dG9wbGF5OyBjbGlwYm9hcmQtd3JpdGU7IGVuY3J5cHRlZC1tZWRpYTsgZ3lyb3Njb3BlOyBwaWN0dXJlLWluLXBpY3R1cmUiIGFsbG93ZnVsbHNjcmVlbj48L2lmcmFtZT4=

Wenn Sie beabsichtigen, eine Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland zu bekommen, ist dieser Prozess grundsätzlich in zwei Schritten durchzuführen: Zunächst wird für die Einreise nach Deutschland ein nationales Visum benötigt, um sodann in der von Ihnen ausgewählten deutschen Stadt die Blaue Karte EU beantragen zu können.

Immerhin sind die Anforderungen für den Erhalt des Einreisevisums in der Form eines nationalen Visums und die Voraussetzungen für Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis zur Erwerbstätigkeit (Blaue Karte EU) identisch. 

Folgende Voraussetzungen müssen grundsätzlich erfüllt sein, wenn Sie eine Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland beantragen wollen:

  1. Sie müssen einen Hochschulabschluss besitzen, der darüber hinaus in Deutschland anerkannt ist,
  2. sollte dies in Ihrem angestrebten Beruf notwendig sein, brauchen Sie die erforderliche Berufsausübungserlaubnis
  3. und Sie müssen die erforderliche Mindestgehaltsgrenze erfüllen.

Wie bereits erwähnt, müssen Sie praktisch denselben Antrag zweimal stellen: Ein erstes Mal, um die Einreise nach Deutschland überhaupt zu ermöglichen und ein zweites Mal, um sodann eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis, in Form der Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland zu erhalten.

Jedoch ist nicht jeder an dieser „doppelten Antragsstellung“ gebunden. Für die Staatsbürger einiger Länder besteht die Möglichkeit, nach Deutschland ohne Visum einzureisen, um den Antrag für den elektronischen Aufenthaltstitel der Blauen Karte EU in Deutschland, direkt bei der zuständigen Ausländerbehörde stellen zu können. Die insofern privilegierten Länder sind: Die USA, Kanada, das Vereinigte Königreich Großbritanniens und Nordirland, Süd-Korea, Japan, Israel, Australien und Neuseeland. Wenn Sie Staatsbürger eines dieser Länder sind, beschränkt sich die Beantragung der Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland somit auf nur einen Schritt.

Weitere Informationen zur Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland und den Voraussetzungen für ein Einreisevisum finden Sie hier. (Stand Oktober 2022)

Zuständigkeiten in Deutschland

Welche Behörde für die Beantragung der Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland zuständig ist und wo genau Sie diese beantragen müssen, richtet sich danach, in welcher Stadt Sie beabsichtigen zukünftig Ihren dauerhaften Aufenthaltsort zu haben.

Ohne Einreisevisum

Sollten Sie kein Einreisevisum benötigen, um die Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland beantragen zu können, handelt es sich hierbei um eine schnelle und gute Option, die Sie in jedem Fall nutzen sollten, um die Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland so zügig wie möglich zu erhalten.

Wenn Sie beabsichtigen, die Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland ohne Einreisevisum zu beantragen, beraten wir Sie im Fall unserer Mandatierung vollumfänglich und nutzen sämtliche rechtlichen Möglichkeiten, um dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass der Beantragungsprozess der Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland so problemlos und schnell wie möglich abgeschlossen ist.

Mit Einreisevisum

Auch wenn Sie für die Beantragung der Blaue Karte EU in Deutschland ein Einreisevisum benötigen, beraten wir Sie gerne und betreuen Sie vom Moment der Visumsbeantragung bis zum Erhalt des elektronischen Aufenthaltstitels.

Insbesondere machen wir hierbei auf das beschleunigte Fachkräfteverfahren gemäß § 81a AufenthG aufmerksam. Dieses bietet einige Vorteile. So ist in einigen Auslandsvertretungen ein Termin nicht mehr notwendig und beschränkt sich auf die Einreichung der erforderlichen Unterlagen. Sollte dennoch ein Termin notwendig sein, so sind die deutschen Auslandsvertretungen verpflichtet diesen innerhalb von drei Wochen zu bestimmen. Über Ihren Antrag wird sodann in der Regel innerhalb von wenigen Wochen, ab dem Zeitpunkt der Unterlageneinreichung, entschieden.  

Das beschleunigte Fachkräfteverfahren führen wir ebenfalls für unsere Mandanten durch und beraten Sie über die Einzelheiten dieses Verfahrens.  

Weitere Informationen zur Blauen Karte EU finden Sie hier.

Kontaktformular


Herr
Herr
Frau
Frau

DSGVO konform | Kanzlei RT & Partner