EU Blue Card - salary limit 2024

The EU Blue Card is a residence permit for Germany that is aimed at skilled workers who have completed a university degree and is intended to promote their immigration to Germany from so-called third countries outside the EU.

To obtain an EU Blue Card for Germany, applicants must have a recognized university degree and a concrete offer of an employment contract that meets the respective salary threshold for an EU Blue Card.

The exact structure of the salary limits for the EU Blue Card for Germany is set out in Section 18g AufenthG. The general salary limit for an EU Blue Card, which skilled workers in Germany must meet in order to be eligible for an EU Blue Card, is half of the annual income threshold for the general German pension insurance. However, for some occupational groups that are in particularly high demand on the labor market, so-called shortage occupations, a lower salary threshold of 45.3% of the annual contribution assessment ceiling of the general German pension insurance applies when applying for an EU Blue Card. The same also applies to young professionals who graduated from university less than three years ago.

For an EU Blue Card for Germany, the minimum salary limit in 2024 is 45,300 euros gross per year or 3,775 euros gross per month. For shortage occupations, the salary limit in 2024 is EUR 41,041.80 gross per year or EUR 3,420.15 gross per month.

More questions?

We will gladly advise you

Mandantenportal

| Blog | FAQ |

Blaue Karte EU – Gehaltsgrenze 2024

Die Blaue Karte EU ist ein Aufenthaltstitel für Deutschland, der sich an Fachkräfte mit einem abgeschlossenen Hochschulstudium richtet und deren Zuwanderung nach Deutschland aus sogenannten Drittstaaten außerhalb der EU fördern soll.

Für den Erhalt dieses Aufenthaltstitels in Deutschland müssen Fachkräfte neben einem anerkannten Hochschulabschluss auch ein konkretes Angebot eines Arbeitsvertrages nachweisen können, welches die jeweilige Gehaltsgrenze für eine Blaue Karte EU erfüllen muss.

Die genaue Ausgestaltung der Gehaltsgrenzen für die Blaue Karte EU für Deutschland ist in § 18g AufenthG festgeschrieben. Die allgemeine Gehaltsgrenze, die Fachkräfte in Deutschland erfüllen müssen, um für eine Blaue Karte EU in Frage zu kommen, liegt bei der Hälfte der jährlichen Beitragsbemessungsgrenze der allgemeinen deutschen Rentenversicherung. Für manche Arten von Beschäftigung, die auf dem Arbeitsmarkt besonders stark nachgefragt werden, sogenannte Mangelberufe, gilt jedoch für die Beantragung einer Blauen Karte EU eine niedrigere Gehaltsgrenze von 45,3 % der jährlichen Beitragsbemessungsgrenze der allgemeinen deutschen Rentenversicherung. Dasselbe gilt auch für Berufseinsteiger, deren Hochschulabschluss noch keine drei Jahre zurück liegt.

Für eine Blaue Karte EU für Deutschland liegt die Mindestgehaltsgrenze im Jahr 2024 bei 45.300 Euro brutto pro Jahr bzw. 3.775 Euro brutto pro Monat. Für Mangelberufe liegt die Gehaltsgrenze im Jahr 2024 bei 41.041,80 Euro brutto pro Jahr bzw. 3.420,15 Euro brutto pro Monat.

Weitere Fragen?

Wir beraten Sie gerne

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Picture of Julia Robl

Julia Robl

Rechtsanwältin

Hier erreichen Sie uns