Client portal

| Blog | FAQ |

Can I buy a horse via WhatsApp?

The use of messenger services such as "WhatsApp" is very popular nowadays. Often, private as well as business communication via cell phone takes place via WhatsApp. The communication channel is practical, short and fast, so that you can maintain your social contacts and also do your business without much effort on the side in everyday life, on the way to work or in the evening on the sofa.

A question that arises for us horse people can now be:

Can I buy a horse via WhatsApp?

It happens again and again that an agreement on the purchase of a horse takes place in the fastest way, via WhatsApp chat. The question arises: Is this contract effective?

For example, a sales contract can be sent as a document to the other party via WhatsApp. The other party, in turn, can return the signed contract by inserting his or her electronic signature or by using an input pen directly on the cell phone. All of this is possible as long as there are no formal requirements in the contract.

In principle, an effective purchase contract requires two concurrent declarations of intent between the buyer and the seller. This so-called agreement can also be made verbally. Consequently, you have also concluded a contract with the baker when you get your breakfast in the morning without this having to be recorded in writing.  

Thus, the above question can be answered with YES can be answered. 

Contracts and thus also the purchase contract for a horse, which is treated like an object in the legal sense, can be concluded via WhatsApp without any special formal requirement as long as the essential elements of a purchase contract (so-called "essentialia negotii") are included in the chat flow, such as the contracting parties, the horse as the object of purchase as well as the purchase price. 

Please note: If the entrepreneur and the consumer conclude a horse purchase solely via means of distance communication, such as via WhatsApp, the special regulations for distance contracts must be taken into account. 

For more detailed information and individual legal advice, please contact our lawyers responsible for this area.

More questions?

Take advantage of our free initial consultation!

Kann ich ein Pferd via WhatsApp kaufen?

Die Nutzung von Messenger-Diensten wie „WhatsApp“ erfreut sich heutzutage großer Beliebtheit. Oftmals findet die private, wie auch die geschäftliche Kommunikation per Handy über WhatsApp statt. Der Kommunikationsweg ist praktisch, kurz und schnell, so dass man ohne großen Aufwand nebenher im Alltag, auf dem Weg zur Arbeit oder abends auf dem Sofa seine sozialen Kontakte pflegen und auch seine Geschäfte erledigen kann.

Eine für uns Pferdeleute aufkommende Frage kann nun sein:

Kann ich ein Pferd via WhatsApp kaufen?

Es kommt immer wieder vor, dass auf schnellstem Weg, per WhatsApp-Chat, eine Einigung über den Kauf eines Pferdes stattfindet. Dabei stellt sich die Frage: Ist dieser Vertrag wirksam?

Beispielsweise kann ein Kaufvertrag als Dokument per WhatsApp an die andere Partei versendet werden. Diese wiederum kann durch einfügen seiner elektronischen Unterschrift oder durch Nutzung eines Eingabestifts direkt auf dem Handy den unterschriebenen Vertrag wieder zurücksenden. All das ist möglich, sofern keine Formvorschriften im Vertrag enthalten sind. 

Grundsätzlich bedarf es eines wirksamen Kaufvertrages zweier übereinstimmender Willenserklärungen zwischen dem Käufer und dem Verkäufer. Diese sogenannte Einigung kann auch mündlich erfolgen. Folglich haben Sie auch einen Vertrag mit dem Bäcker geschlossen, wenn Sie sich morgens Ihr Frühstück holen, ohne dass dies schriftlich festgehalten werden muss.  

Somit kann die oben aufgeführte Frage mit JA beantwortet werden. 

Verträge und somit auch der Kaufvertrag über ein Pferd, das im rechtlichen Sinne wie eine Sache behandelt wird, kann ohne besondere Formvorschrift per WhatsApp geschlossen werden, solange die wesentlichen Bestandteile eines Kaufvertrages (sogenannte „essentialia negotii“) im Chatverlauf enthalten sind, wie z.B. die Vertragsparteien, das Pferd als Kaufgegenstand sowie der Kaufpreis. 

Zu beachten ist: Schließen Unternehmer und Verbraucher einen Pferdekauf allein über Fernkommunikationsmittel ab, wie zum Beispiel via WhatsApp, so sind die besonderen Regelungen für Fernabsatzverträge zu berücksichtigen. 

Für genauere Informationen und eine individuelle rechtliche Beratung kontaktieren Sie gerne unsere hierfür zuständigen Rechtsanwälte. 

Verwandte Beiträge

Weitere Fragen?

Nutzen Sie unsere kostenlose Erstberatung!

Kontaktformular


Herr
Herr
Frau
Frau

DSGVO konform | Kanzlei RT & Partner